Breeders Cup Entries 2019

Commercial Content | 18/21+ | T&Cs Apply

The Breeders Cup 2019 in one of the most well-known and widely respected dates on the horse racing calendar.

This year's Breeders Cup Entries have already been announced. It is one of the largest horse racing events anywhere in the world, in terms of both size, reach and potential winnings.

This year’s edition will be held on Saturday the 2nd of November. Watch it live, it is expected to be one of the biggest yet.

Breeders Cup Entries 2019

Breeders Cup HorsesJockeyBreeders Cup Odds to Win
Thunder Snow (IRE)Christophe Soumillon12-1
Roaring LionOisin Murphy20-1
Catholic BoyJavier Castellano8-1
GunnevaraIrad Ortiz Jr.20-1
Lone SailorFlavien Prat30-1
McKinzieMike Smith6-1
West CoastJohn Velazquez5-1
PavelJoel Rosario20-1
MendelssohnRyan Moore12-1
Yoshida (JPN)Jose Ortiz10-1
Mind Your BiscuitsTyler Gaffalione6-1
AxelrodRoyston Frenc0-1
Discreet LoverChristian Hiraldo20-1
AccelerateJoel Rosario5-2

A maximum of 14 Breeders Cup horses are permitted to compete in any of the races which are part of the Breeders Cup 2019.

This year’s favorites are Accelerate and Joel Rosario, who last year won the  TVG Pacific Classic Stakes by a record margin. Here’s our table, which includes all of the riders and horses competing in this year’s event alongside their Breeders Cup odds.

Breeders Cup Entries

The event centers around the Breeders Classic, which is the oldest of the races on offer at the Cup. The Classic began in 1984, and since then has established itself as one of the premier races worldwide. The venue for the event changes every year, and this year’s venue is an old favorite, being held at Santa Anita Park in Arcadia, California.

Since the start of the Classic, which was previously a 1-day event, the Cup has expanded to include the Turf and the Mile races. In total, between all races held, the event has a total prize fund of $30 million.

This guide will take you through the key Breeders Cup entries.

Rules of the Classic Race

The Breeder’s Classic is a race for Grade 1 thoroughbred horses, which is a premier event globally. Breeders Cup Entries must be over the age of 3 in order to compete in the classic, but this varies depending on the race. The Breeders Cup 2019 also holds juvenile races, which allow for younger horses to take part.

The distance of the Classic is 1 ¼ Miles, which is run over a dirt surface on a left hand turning track. Breeders Cup contenders are selected through a number of factors based on past performance in Staked Points and Championship races.

Prize Money

The Breeder’s Classic is an event which selects some of the top thoroughbred racehorses from around the world. Breeders Cup contenders compete for a share of the top prize, which is $3.3 million for the winner. In total, the Classic pays out $6 million total, which includes travel awards for foreign horses.

$6 Million Gross Purse

Official FinishOwner PurseTravel Awards

Types of Bets

There are plenty of ways for you to bet on the Classic and indeed the other races which make up the Cup. Breeders Cup odds can be taken advantage of online and at the event itself.

In order to discover the best way to bet on horses, here’s a breakdown of some key ways to bet on Breeders Cup horses.

Outright Winner

Betting on the outright winner from Breeders Cup contenders is as simple as it sounds. Simply pick a horse to win the given race outright. This represents some level of risk, as only a win will pay out money, so if you choose to do this, make sure you make a careful selection in terms of which horse to back.

Place Bet

A Place bet is a bet which pays out when the horse that you have selected is either placed first or second. This gives you an extra layer of security as opposed to an outright winner bet, allowing you to get some winnings for a second place finish among Breeders cup Entries.

Show Bet

A Show bet is much like a Place bet, except, quite simply, it pays out when the horse that you pick finished 3rd.

Exacta Bet

An Exacta bet sees you back 2 horses for the same race. What you are betting on here is a first and second placing for Breeders Cup entries, which both have to happen in order for you to win. This bet represents a high-risk approach but has some of the biggest payouts available.

Bet Online

Its never been easier to bet on all of the races which make up the Breeders Cup than now. Gone are the days of standing out in the rain and having to find a bookie shop to place a bet on a race. Now, there is a huge amount of choice online in terms of how you choose to bet.

There is also a massive amount of competition between different operators, who are offering different odds and promotions in order to attract punters. Players are encouraged to take a look at different online options before betting on the Breeders Cup, so can be sure to get the best deal possible.

Breeders Cup Round-Up

The Breeder’s Cup, and in particular the Breeder’s Classic are highly anticipated by Horse Racing fans around the world. This premier event has some huge amounts of money and prestige at stake are comparable to the Preakness Stakes or Kentucky Derby.

We hope that this guide has given you some perspective on the Breeders Cup entries this year.

21+ Play Responsibly National Council on Problem Gambling