Pegasus World Cup 2021

Mucho Gusto wins the Pegasus World Cup 2020. Zulu Alpha won the Pegasus World Cup Turf. The next Pegasus World Cup will take place on January 23rd, 2021.

Taking place in southern Florida, the Pegasus World Cup is one of the top American Thoroughbred horse races. While it only started back in 2017, it is now highly regarded within the racing season.

The 2020 edition took place on Jan. 25 at Gulfstream Park. The event is a series of two invite-only Grade 1 races: the $3 million Pegasus World Cup and the $1 million Pegasus World Cup Turf. Find all the Pegasus World Cup Entries 2020 below.

Pegasus World Cup Entries 2020

Originally a field of 12, the Pegasus World Cup will now only have 10 starters. The second favorite, Spun to Run, and the heavily-favored Omaha Beach were both scratched on Jan. 23.

Here are the horse entries, along with their odds, trainers, and jockeys.

  1. True TImber, 20-1 (Kiaran McLaughlin/Joe Bravo)
  2. Tax, 12-1, (Danny Gargan/Jose Ortiz)
  3. Diamond Oops, 20-1 (Patrick Biancone/Julien Leparoux)
  4. Seeking the Soul, 30-1 (Dallas Stewart/John Velazquez)
  5. Omaha Beach, 7-5 (Richard Mandella/Mike Smith) – SCRATCHED
  6. High Power, 6-1 (John Sadler/Flavien Prat)
  7. War Story, 30-1 (Elizabeth Dobles/Joel Rosario)
  8. Mr Freeze, 30-1 (Dale Romans/Luis Saez)
  9. Spun to Run, 7-2 (Jose Guerrero/Javier Castellano) – SCRATCHED
  10. Mucho Gusto, 9-2 (Bob Baffert/Irad Ortiz Jr.)
  11. Tenfold, 30-1 (Steve Asmussen/Tyler Gaffalione)
  12. Bodexpress, 30-1 (Emisael Jaramillo/Gustavo Delgado)

Jump to

pegasus world cup entries

Previous Pegasus Horse Races Winners

While we wait for this year’s edition of the race, check out the previous winners.

Race  Winner (Odds)
Pegasus World Cup Invitational City of Light (5/2)
Pegasus World Cup Turf Invitational Bricks and Mortar (5/1)

Previous Winners

  • 2018 – Gun Runner (5/7)
  • 2017 – Arrogate (4/5)

Pegasus World Cup Turf 2020 Entries

The Grade 1, $1 million Pegasus World Cup Turf Invitational presented by Runhappy first ran one year ago. That race launched Bricks and Mortar’s perfect season, making him a probable for the Horse of the Year award.

This year’s field will look to get the same momentum from the race, and it is led by the mare Magic Wand.

The entries for the Pegasus World Cup Turf 2020 with their odds, trainers, and jockeys are:

  1. Zulu Alpha, 12-1 (Mike Maker/Tyler Gaffalione)
  2. Arklow, 6-1 (Brad Cox/Luis Saez)
  3. Without Parole, 4-1 (Chad Brown/Frankie Dettori)
  4. Sadler’s Joy, 8-1 (Tom Albertrani/Javier Castellano)
  5. Channel Cat, 10-1 (Todd Pletcher/John Velazquez)
  6. Instilled Regard, 10-1 (Chad Brown/Irad Ortiz Jr.)
  7. Admission Office, 30-1 (Brian Lynch/Flavien Prat)
  8. Henley’s Joy, 30-1 (Mike Maker/Julien Leparoux)
  9. Next Shares, 30-1 (Richard Baltas/ Jose Valdivia Jr.)
  10. Mo Forza, 5-1 (Peter Miller/Joel Rosario)
  11. Sacred Life, 12-1 (Chad Brown/ Jose Ortiz)
  12. Magic Wand, 7-2 (Aidan O’Brien/Ryan Moore)

Pegasus World Cup History

The first edition of the Pegasus World Cup ran on Jan. 28, 2017. Each year, it takes place at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

The distance is 1 1/8 miles (nine furlongs) over dirt, and it is open to horses aged 4 years and up.

Back in January 2016, Frank Stronach proposed the race at the Thoroughbred Owners Conference at Gulfstream.

In its inaugural running, the purse for the Pegasus World Cup was $12 million. The large amount of money made it the richest horse race in the world, overtaking the Dubai World Cup.

In 2018, the purse rose to $16 million before dropping down to $9 million in 2019. This year’s edition caused controversy when it was announced that the purse was further reduced to $3 million, and the entry fee was waived.

Another big change this year made by The Stronach Group, which is the owner of Gulfstream Park, is that the horses are not allowed to use any race-day medications. The medication-free policy fits into the standards of the International Federation of Horse Racing Authorities (IFHA).

One of the most talked-about medications that falls under the ban is Lasix, an anti-bleeding medication used to prevent respiratory problems while a horse runs. The first uses of Lasix in the horse racing industry began in the 1970s.

The Stronach Group is hoping to usher in a new era in North American thoroughbred racing with the new policies.

Eclipse Award

Gulfstream Park was also the venue for the 49th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, which takes place at the Pegasus World Cup. An Eclipse Award Trophy is presented to the winner of each division, and the most prestigious of all is the American Award for Horse of the Year. The Horse of the Year 2019 Award went to Bricks and Mortar. The 6-year old thoroughbred won 5 Grade 1 Stakes last year, including the Breeders’ Cup Turf, the Arlington Million, and the Pegasus World Cup Turf Invitational.

The 2018 award was presented to Justify, winner of the Triple Crown and the Kentucky Derby. The ceremony was held on Jan. 23 in the Sport of Kings Theatre.

Pegasus World Cup Betting

Some of the biggest excitement for the Pegasus World Cup comes from the odds, predictions, and bets prior to the race. You do not have to be at Gulfstream Park to wager, as online horse betting can be found at TVG (4NJbets for New Jersey and PAbets for Pennsylvania) and Amwager.

Some of the most popular bets include Win, Place, Show, Exacta, Trifecta, and Superfecta. All of these are available to bet on in the Pegasus World Cup.

Pegasus World Cup Betting Tips & Predictions

Leading up to the race, there was a lot of excitement around the even-money favorite Omaha Beach. However, the son of War Front was scratched after X-rays found a fracture in the 4-year-old’s ankle.

With the scratch of a favored horse, most eyes would then turn to the second favorite. For the Pegasus World Cup, that was Spun to Run. The 7-2 second choice was scratched as well, due to a skin problem.

The scratching of the top two horses made most predictions, picks, and markets invalid. Higher Power, Mucho Gusto, and Tax are the next three, and they will fight for favoritism.

The horses which were set to be on the outside of Omaha Beach and Spun to Run will benefit from moving inside one post at the start of the race.


What is the Pegasus World Cup?

The Pegasus World Cup is one of the richest and most anticipated racing events in the world. The first edition of the race took place in 2017, and it was only a single race with a purse of $16 million.

Today, there is also the Pegasus World Cup Turf, and the purse is reduced. The race is also the venue for the prestigious Horse of the Year award.

Where is the Pegasus World Cup?

The Pegasus World Cup takes place every January at Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

When is the Pegasus World Cup?

The Pegasus World Cup normally runs towards the end of January. The 2021 edition of the race is set to take place on Jan. 23.

Where can I watch the Pegasus Cup live? 

There are multiple ways to watch the Pegasus World Cup and the Eclipse Award ceremony. NBC will broadcast the race live, and it will be streamed by TVG.

This site contains commercial content. Read more.